Great honour as Trippier makes PFA Championship Team

28 April 2013 10:39
Tonight is the big night of the year for the Professional Footballers' Association, their annual awards night and the Clarets have been recognised with Kieran Trippier making the Championship team.

It's a fantastic achievement for Trippier in his second season with the Clarets. He admitted tonight that he doesn't feel that he's been on top form throughout the season but that his nomination has come about because of the way the team has played.

"Everyone knows I like to get forward as much as possible, but you need to have confidence in the players around you to do that and we have a great bunch of lads here at Burnley," he said. "It's largely because of them that I'm here tonight and I'm absolutely delighted to be nominated."

There will be disappointment around Turf Moor that Charlie Austin hasn't been selected, and maybe he would have been but for having two spells out of the team with injury and illness. The forward places have gone to Glenn Murray of Crystal Palace and Watford's Matej Vydra.

Palace have three players in the team in total and there are two each from Cardiff and Leicester, including our former loan player Pete Whittingham, with the other four coming from four other clubs.

The full team is: Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester), Kieran Trippier (Burnley), Wes Morgan (Leicester), Mark Hudson (Cardiff), Wayne Bridge (Brighton), Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace), Tom Ince (Blackpool), Pete Whittingham (Cardiff), Yannik Bolasie (Crystal Palace), Glenn Murray (Crystal Palace), Matej Vydra (Watford).

Previous Burnley players to have been named in the divisional teams

1974/75: Leighton James1981/82: Martin Dobson1983/84: Brian Flynn & Billy Hamilton1985/86: Kevin Hird1990/91: Steve P Davis1991/92: Steve M Davis1992/93: Marlon Beresford1993/94: Marlon Beresford1995/96: Kurt Nogan1998/99: Steve M Davis1999/00: Steve M Davis & Glen Little1996/97: David Eyres & Gary Parkinson2011/12: Jay Rodriguez

Source: Clarets Mad