Get ready for the FA Cup

01 December 2012 12:48
Just around the time we are all trying to make our way home tomorrow, taking our different routes and walking alongside the war zone style police barriers, we will also be going into the draw for the 3rd round of the FA Cup.

Our game should finish around 2:30 p.m. and the big FA Cup draw will take place at 2:40 p.m. and will be made by two former footballers who have recently retired from the game for very different reasons.

One is Fabrice Muamba who suffered a cardiac arrest playing for Bolton in the competition last season at Tottenham.

On the other side when the tie was replayed was Ledley King who was forced to retire because of his injuries in the summer. He'll be alongside Muamba making the draw.

As always for the 3rd round, the clubs from the top two leagues will take the numbers 1-44 in alphabetical order with the remaining numbers, 45-64, allocated as per the order of the 2nd round draw.

As will most clubs, we'll be hoping for a home draw in the 3rd round.

Last season we were drawn at Norwich but in the previous season won a home tie against Port Vale, the only time we've been drawn at home in the last four years and one of only two occasions in the last seven years that we've kicked off our FA Cup campaign at Turf Moor.

The draw numbers are

1 Arsenal2 Aston Villa3 Barnsley4 Birmingham5 Blackburn6 Blackpool7 Bolton8 Brighton9 Bristol City10 Burnley11 Cardiff12 Charlton13 Chelsea14 Crystal Palace15 Derby16 Everton17 Fulham18 Huddersfield19 Hull20 Ipswich21 Leeds22 Leicester23 Liverpool24 Manchester City25 Manchester United26 Middlesbrough27 Millwall28 Newcastle29 Norwich30 Nottm Forest31 Peterborough32 QPR33 Reading34 Sheffield Wed35 Southampton36 Stoke37 Sunderland38 Swansea39 Tottenham40 Watford41 West Brom42 West Ham43 Wigan44 Wolves45 Preston or Gillingham46 Bury or Southend47 Sheffield Utd or Port Vale48 Carlisle or Bournemouth49 Crewe or Burton50 Bradford City or Brentford51 Luton or Dorchester52 Alfreton or Leyton Orient53 Oldham or Doncaster54 Tranmere or Chesterfield55 Rotherham or Notts County56 Cheltenham or Hereford57 Barrow or Macclesfield58 Accrington or Oxford59 Lincoln or Mansfield60 Harrogate Town or Hastings61 Coventry or Morecambe62 MK Franchise v AFC Wimbledon63 Crawley or Chelmsford64 Fleetwood or Aldershot

Source: Clarets Mad


Trending on the forum