Dyche and Ings up for October awards

07 November 2013 09:37
Sean Dyche and Danny Ings have been nominated for the manager and player of the month awards for the Championship for October.

It was a month that saw Burnley go to the top of the league on the first day, at Doncaster, and go on to win all four league games during the month, the only disappointment coming with the Capital One Cup exit against West Ham nine days ago.

Dyche has been nominated for the manager award for the third successive month and that's very much a Burnley record, and he would certainly create a club record should he come out on top and win it for a second successive month, as he surely should.

He was one of the four nominees for August but lost out to Blackpool's Paul Ince but was the choice of the panel in September when he saw off the threat from Nigel Pearson (Leicester), Gianfranco Zola (Watford) and Steve Lomas (Millwall).

Pearson is again nominated as are Chris Powell (Charlton) and the league's newest manager Steve McClaren who took over at Derby on the day after their first game of the month.

All of the Championship clubs played four league games during the month and Dyche's record of twelve points cannot be beaten. Pearson's Leicester picked up three wins and a defeat at Doncaster, Derby secured eight points, including three under the caretaker manager, and Charlton secured six points from their four games and moved up one place in the table from 20th to 19th making Powell's nomination a surprise despite them being unbeaten.

Jason Shackell was nominated for the player of the month in September but ultimately lost out to Ipswich's David McGoldrick. This month it is Danny Ings who has been nominated after adding a further three goals including a brace in the top of the table win against QPR.

Competition comes from Albert Adomah (Middlesbrough) who scored five times during the month, Wigan's Emmerson Boyce as they conceded just two goals, and Henri Lansbury (Nottingham Forest) for his influence in the midfield.

Best of luck to both Sean Dyche and Danny Ings and the winners will be revealed tomorrow.

Source: Clarets Mad