Rovers finalise 21-man Prem squad

01 September 2010 06:27
lackburn Rovers have opted to name a 21-man squad for the 2010/11 Premier League campaign.

With the summer transfer window having slammed shut on Tuesday, clubs had until 5pm on Wednesday to make their selections.

They had to adhere to new rules regarding home-grown players, with eight players who have been affiliated to the English or Welsh FA for three seasons or 36 months prior to their 21st birthday having to be included.

Rovers have had no problem sticking to those guidelines, with Sam Allardyce confident he has the quality at his disposal to push for a top-half finish again this term.

Among those he has called upon this season are new signings Mame Biram Diouf and Benjani, who will be hoping to bring a cutting edge to Blackburn's attack.

Experienced frontman Jason Robert is also included despite being informed that he was free to leave the club this summer if he could put a suitable deal in place.

As clubs can call upon an unlimited amount of players under the age of 21, the likes of Phil Jones and Junior Hoilett will also be available to Allardyce this season.

Blackburn squad: Paul Robinson, Martin Olsson, Chris Samba, Gael Givet, Ryan Nelsen, Brett Emerton, David Dunn, Nikola Kalinic, El-Hadji Diouf, Vince Grella, Morten Gamst Pedersen, Mark Bunn, Steven Nzonzi, Keith Andrews, Michel Salgado, Jason Brown, Frank Fielding, Pascal Chimbonda, Mame Biram Diouf, Jason Roberts, Benjani.

Source: Team_Talk