Yeovil Secure Promotion

20 May 2013 01:21
Glovers into second tier.

Yeovil Town secured their place in next season's Championship after beating Brentford 2-1 in yesterdays Npower League One playoff final.

First half goals from top scorer Paddy Madden and Dan Burn laid the foundation for the Glovers, and despite an early second half goal from Harley Dean, Gary Johnson's side played out the remaining 40 minutes to gain promotion.

This will be Yeovil's first ever season in English football's second tier. After finishing fourth in League One, they came through a semi-final against Sheffield United, winning 2-1 on aggregate. They were only promoted from non-league ten years ago.

They join champions Doncaster Rovers and Eddie Howe's AFC Bournemouth in next seasons Championship. Queens Park Rangers, Reading and Wigan Athletic will be the new sides dropping down from the Premier League.

Next week's Championship play-off final between Crystal Palace and Watford will decide the final 24 for the 2013/2014 campaign. 

1. AFC Bournemouth2. Barnsley3. Birmingham City4. Blackburn Rovers5. Blackpool6. Bolton Wanderers7. Brighton & Hove Albion8. Burnley9. Charlton Athletic10. Derby County11. Doncaster Rovers12. Huddersfield Town13. Ipswich Town14. Leeds United15. Leicester City16. Middlesbrough17. Millwall18. Nottingham Forest19. Queens Park Rangers20. Reading21. Sheffield Wednesday22. Wigan Athletic23. Yeovil Town24. Crystal Palace/Watford

Source: TykesMAD