Cahill and Schwarzer back for Wales clash

02 August 2011 08:30

Everton attacking midfielder Tim Cahill and Fulham goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer return to the Australian line-up for their friendly match against Wales in Cardiff, but Harry Kewell is missing.

The England-based pair spearhead an 18-man squad announced Tuesday by coach Holger Osieck for the August 10 clash, but out-of-contract striker Kewell was overlooked.

Osieck said the former Liverpool star was "not in very good shape".

Both Kewell and captain Lucas Neill have been released by their Turkish club Galatasaray but while Neill has maintained a training regime, Kewell has not been as diligent.

"There is a slight difference between the two of them - one is fit and one is not fit," Osieck told reporters.

"Lucas has done a lot of work. He is in very good shape but Harry is not in very good shape."

Kewell also missed the home friendlies against New Zealand and Serbia in June and appears to be struggling to be ready for the Socceroos' opening World Cup qualifier against Thailand in early September.

"We all know what value Harry brings to the team. I am really hoping he will be in game shape for the qualifiers," Osieck added.

Fourteen of the players named Tuesday were part of the squad that beat New Zealand 3-0 and drew 0-0 with Serbia -- matches Cahill and Schwarzer missed after gruelling English Premier League seasons.

Middlesbrough striker Scott McDonald also returns, while South Korea-based defender Luke DeVere gets his first call-up.

Brett Emerton, meanwhile, is poised to become the second-most capped Socceroo behind Schwarzer (89), with the Blackburn midfielder set to equal Alex Tobin's tally of 87 internationals.

The match is the first official clash between Wales and Australia.

Tim Cahill (Everton, England), Luke DeVere (Gyeongnam FC, South Korea), Brett Emerton (Blackburn, England), Adam Federici (Reading, England), Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar, Holland), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace, England), Neil Kilkenny (Bristol City, England), Robbie Kruse (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Scott McDonald (Middlesbrough, England), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Lucas Neill (uncontracted), Mark Schwarzer (Fulham, England), Matthew Spiranovic (Urawa Red Diamonds, Japan), James Troisi (Kayserispor Kulubu, Turkey), Carl Valeri (Sassuolo Calcio, Italy), Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow, Russia), Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough, England), Michael Zullo (Utrecht, Netherlands)

Source: AFP