<—END OF LOAD TAG—>
 

Angel escapes FA action

12 December 2006 12:03
Aston Villa striker Juan Pablo Angel will not be disciplined by the Football Association for his alleged elbow on Sheffield United captain Chris Morgan during Monday's 2-2 draw between the two sides at Bramall Lane. Referee Mark Halsey saw the incident which means, under FIFA regulations, that the FA are unable to take any retrospective action. That is disappointing news for Blades boss Neil Warnock, who was incensed by the Villa striker's actions, saying after the match: "I saw Angel elbow Morgan in the box. "Morgs has said the referee saw the incident. We will have to see, but I don't think there's any need for it." As the teams left the pitch, the argument between the two players continued, with Villa boss Martin O'Neill confirming: "There was a kerfuffle in the tunnel and a few words were exchanged. "I was waiting there to speak to the referee and I'm not the tallest so I couldn't quite make it out. "But there was nothing thrown or anything like that. There was just a lot of shouting and people separating them. I'm not too sure what happened."

Source: ESA