Spain name 23-man World Cup squad

20 May 2010 03:23
Fernando Torres and Cesc Fabregas have both been included in Spain's final 23-man squad for this summer's World Cup in South Africa.

The pair have been named along with uncapped trio Victor Valdes, Pedro Rodriguez and Javi Martinez.

Liverpool striker Torres (knee) and Arsenal midfielder Fabregas (lower leg) are recovering from injuries that forced them to miss the end of the English Premier League season, but both will go to South Africa.

Valdes got the third goalkeeping spot behind Iker Casillas and Jose Reina while his Barcelona team-mate, winger Pedro, was also included following a fine season with the Primera Division champions.

Athletic Bilbao midfielder Martinez is the other newcomer in a squad that has many of the same faces that won Euro 2008.

Of Del Bosque's 30-man provisional squad for the World Cup, the men to miss out are goalkeepers Diego Lopez and David De Gea, defender Cesar Azpilicueta, midfielders Marcos Senna and Santi Cazorla, plus forwards Dani Guiza and Alvaro Negredo.

Spain have been drawn against Switzerland, Chile and Honduras in Group H in South Africa.

Spain squad for World Cup: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Jose Reina (Liverpool), Victor Valdes (Barcelona); Raul Albiol (Real Madrid, Alvaro Arbeloa (Real Madrid), Joan Capdevila (Villarreal), Carlos Marchena (Valencia), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid); Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Sergi Busquets (Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Javi Martinez (Athletic Bilbao), David Silva (Valencia), Xavi (Barcelona); Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Juan Manuel Mata (Valencia), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Fernando Llorente (Athletic Bilbao), Fernando Torres (Liverpool), David Villa (Valencia).

Source: Team_Talk

World Cup Group G

Belgium 1 0 0 3 3
England 1 0 0 1 3
Tunisa 0 0 1 -1 0
Panama 0 0 1 -3 0
Last updated : 08:44