GRAHAM POLL: Forget final emotion, ref Rosetti was spot on to show red

07 May 2009 09:43
GRAHAM POLL WEBCHAT LIVE AT 1pm: Were Chelsea robbed?  Does Darren Fletcher deserve to have his red card rescinded? Ask him your question.

Italian referee Roberto Rosetti had a fine match and can justify in law the penalty he gave after Darren Fletcher brought down Cesc Fabregas.

When commentators and former players say: 'He got the ball, it can't be a foul,' they are wrong.

Even though Fletcher got a slight touch on the ball, Rosetti felt it was impossible for the Manchester United midfielder to avoid taking his opponent in the follow-through. Therefore, he had no option but to dismiss the Scot.

The United player stretches across Fabregas and gets the merest touch on the ball as the Spaniard bursts through on goal

In his follow through, Fletcher brings his opponent crashing down (above and below)

Leaving ref Rosetti little choice but to give the United man his marching orders

As for an appeal, UEFA do not entertain them except in cases of mistaken identity.

They follow FIFA's mandate that the referee's decision is final andany player shown a red card must serve a minimum one-match suspension.

That match, unfortunately for Fletcher and United, is the showpiece event of European club football.

 Arsenal 1 United 3 (agg 1-4): Ronaldo and Park blow away GunnersSame again for Sir Alex! Manchester United boss eyes second straight Champions League title MARTIN SAMUEL: Messi will be hard pressed to top this Ronaldo supershowDouble denial: United rule out moves for stars Ribery and Kaka this summerARSENAL FC

Source: Daily_Mail